Call for Participation

Download as PDF version

You can download the full call for participation as PDF here.

Call for Participation

The paper / demo submission deadline has been extended to January 15th, 2010.

The symposium focuses on discussing the various problems and solutions concerning the capture, analysis, and re-synthesis of sound fields applying spherical acoustics; for example higher-order Ambisonics (HOA), and spherical microphone arrays.

The symposium is going to be divided into

  • oral presentations (keynotes and submissions),
  • poster sessions, and
  • two demonstration sessions (artistic and technical).

This symposium will benefit from a hemi-spherical loudspeaker array that will be installed for the duration of the symposium, which will be held in the Espace de projection, the variable acoustics performance hall of Ircam.

Original contributions are encouraged in, but not limited to, the following topics:

  • General considerations on spherical acoustics theory
  • Ambisonic for sound scene reproduction and virtual acoustic environments
  • Spherical microphone array systems and signal processing
  • Capture and analysis of radiation patterns
  • Spherical acoustic holography
  • Synthesis of directional and focused sound sources
  • Spherical loudspeaker array systems and signal processing
  • Theoretical considerations on comparative subjective and objective studies
  • Standardization, exchange, implementation and hardware issues


Submissions will be judged based on extended abstracts (1000 words). Procedures to submit papers, posters, and demo sessions are detailed at the symposium website Final papers must be camera-ready conforming to the format specified on the submission website.

Several excellent papers will be selected for collective submission to Acta Acustica united with Acustica. These papers will be expanded versions of the presented works, and will go through the standard peer review process.

Important dates

See Dates and Deadlines section.

Symposium Chairs

General Co-Chairs
Markus Noisternig (IRCAM - UMR CNRS)
Brian FG Katz (LIMSI - CNRS)
Rozenn Nicol (France Telecom - Orange Labs)

Technical Program Co-Chairs
Nicolas Misdariis (IRCAM - UMR CNRS)
Olivier Warusfel (IRCAM)

Administration Chair
Sylvie Benoit (IRCAM)

Powered by Drupal - Design by Artinet